Montgomery County DWI Attorney

Arrest in Montgomery County, Texas for a DWI?

A DWI arrest in the Montgomery County area can be extremely humiliating and disconcerting, but it is crucial to remember that being charged with this type of crime does not imply conviction. When police officers make mistakes or violate alleged offenders’ rights, prosecutors are frequently compelled to reduce or dismiss the criminal charges.

DWI Penalties

DWI is a serious crime in Montgomery County, Texas, and both police forces and prosecutors take it very seriously. Several news organizations have praised the Montgomery County District Attorney’s Office for their anti-drunk driving efforts. This crackdown is accompanied by measures such as “no-refusal” weekends and mandatory blood draws. Unfortunately, this zeal often leads to the charging of drivers who are not legally drunk. If you have been arrested for DWI, you must immediately hire a lawyer to protect your rights.

  • For 1st DWI offenders with a BAC of under .15:
    • A fine of up to $2,000.00 is possible.
    • A prison sentence of 3 days to 180 days is possible.
  • For 2nd DWI offenses:
    • The maximum fine is limited to $4,000.00.
    • The maximum prison sentence may be increased from 30 days to one year.
  • For 3rd DWI offenders:
    • The maximum fine may not exceed $10,000.00.
    • Maximum prison sentences could be increased from two to ten years.
  • Assault Due to Intoxication:
    • A fine of up to $10,000.00 may be imposed.
    • Can also receive a sentence of 2-10 years in prison.
  • Manslaughter by Intoxication:
    • A maximum fine of $10,000.00 may be imposed.
    • and/or imprisoned for two to twenty years

Locating an Experienced DWI Attorney in Montgomery County

Although there are a number of low-cost DWI attorneys in Houston, Conroe, and Montgomery County, it is important to understand that these attorneys may have a heavy caseload that takes time away from your case, and they may incentivize you to plead guilty and/or accept probation, putting you at a disadvantage.

Driving while intoxicated (DWI) is a serious offense in Montgomery County. Montgomery County has consistently outperformed all other counties in Texas with a population greater than or equal to 500,000 in terms of the number of DWI fatalities experienced in the county for the last five years in a row. As a result, Montgomery County has a higher rate of intoxication assault and intoxication manslaughter charges than most other counties.

When choosing legal representation, keep in mind that the expertise of your DWI Attorney in Texas is crucial. The handling of your DWI defense case will have an impact on the outcome and thus your future.

You only have fifteen (15) days from the date of your Montgomery County DWI charge to request an ALR hearing on your Texas driver’s license. According to Texas DWI laws, if you do not request a hearing, your Texas driver’s license may be suspended and you may face significant fines for several years. It is critical that you retain competent legal counsel for this hearing to contest the license suspension.

How a Texas lawyer can help you fight

DWI penalties in Texas can jeopardize not only your freedom, but they can also have a significant impact on your ability to make a living and support  their family.

If you were pulled over by an officer or sheriff’s deputy anywhere in Montgomery County, suspected of DWI, arrested, and consequently jailed, you will need a skilled DWI attorney on your side if you wish to fight the charge and/or avoid the harsh penalties that await defendants convicted of DUI or Driving while intoxicated in Montgomery County, TX. When asked how to respond to allegations of drunk driving, our advice is to fight it.

Leave a Comment